The Young and Inexperienced

I absolutely love reading the way the Message Bible puts everything in context. Like this verse in Psalms 119- “I’m too young to be important, but I don’t forget what you tell me.” It struck me as odd, because as a Christian teen, I’ve always heard “You can do great things and be really important while you’re young.” They flaunt videos of child prodigies in our faces, almost as if they say, “Why can’t you be more like them?” The thing is, that’s not what God had planned for me to be. I was designed to have a spot all my own and to impact the world in the way God wants me to. It doesn’t matter if I couldn’t play Beethoven’s symphonies at three, I wasn’t supposed to.

The author of Psalms 119, according to the Message, was too young to be important, yet he has 176 verses in the middle of this amazing book of the Bible. His name isn’t known, but his impact is. He might not be big and famous, but because he listened to God, he changed lives. God planned for an unknown guy somewhere way before me to provide inspiration, first, for the author of the Message paraphrase, and second, for a girl over here, who is also too young to be important, but won’t forget God’s words. How do I do that? By doing exactly what God wants me to.

I don’t know a lot. I can’t say much. I’m inexperienced. How much does a teenager know? That’s the thing, I hope what I write here isn’t me. Wisdom is given to those who ask for it, I’m asking for it. I can’t say much about the world, but I can say a lot about God. He created the world; he’s pretty good to go to for blog advice. I can’t wait to see what he will do. Here I am, young and inexperienced, what are you? How are you going to use that to bring the greatest glory to Him?

*taken from Psalms 119:141 (MSG)

6 thoughts on “The Young and Inexperienced

  1. M-
    I have been encouraged by what you’ve written here. The part that spoke most deeply to my heart was when you said ” he listened”. I don’t always do a good job of that. Thank you for the reminder. Thank you for taking the time to share your heart. What a gift The Lord has given you in your ability to articulate your heart and your thoughts.

    Like

    1. Rachel, you have always been there to encourage me in whatever I do, from All-state, to this blog; I love hearing it! I plan to take much more time to “share my heart” now that I have this blog. It will be an incredible learning process for me and I’m glad you’re wanting to read! Thanks for your constant support, love ya 🙂

      Like

  2. M-
    The Lord has always done such mighty things through you. This blog will be no different. The truth is, it’s because you are willing. You stand before God, much like the prophet Isaiah and say, “Here I am”. I am grateful to know you, and to watch you grow. Most of all I am grateful that I get to watch and even be a part of the ways you are ushering others into the Kingdom of God. Love you!! -Kim

    Like

    1. Kim, you’re awesome. I love hearing your encouraging words, especially since you are one of my biggest role models. God has done so much through you, more than you will ever know. Continue to read my blog and challenge me in my faith. Love ya! 🙂

      Like

  3. What a beautiful blog post! I went to college with your mom and dad so I know they are so pleased with your love for the Lord and your desire to share the gospel with others. You are an excellent writer and I know God will bless your blog as you use the gifts He has given you to share His love with your readers. I look forward to reading more from you. Consider me one of your first regular readers. With your permisson, I would like to share your work on my Facebook page and on my own blogs. Just let me know if it is ok with you. Congratulations on launching your blog!

    Shone Truelove

    Like

    1. Just as a random comment, I absolutely love your last name! But that’s not the point, I wanted to thank you for your encouraging words and your willingness to read what I post. It really speaks volumes to me. I readily give my permission for you to share this with whomever you like. As long as Christ is glorified, go for it 🙂

      Like

Have Something To Say? Write it Below!

