Proverbs 14:28 (MSG)

28 The mark of a good leader is loyal followers;
leadership is nothing without a following.

**********************************************

This is the second lesson that God is teaching me regarding leadership. The verse really speaks for itself, you are not a good leader if you have no followers. It makes a lot of sense, you don’t to talk to people you don’t want to hear speak. You don’t hang out with people you don’t like. You don’t follow people who don’t lead well. Because this next year, everything will be new to me, I will see how many people follow me.

I will post things about Youth camp later this summer, but I wanted to shine a light on the commitment that I made to my youth group while I was there. Each night, we would have a worship session and then the speaker would stand up and give the message. That night, the message centered on this question, will you be able to walk across a graduation and have people say about you, I can follow her because he/she follows Christ. He/She constantly seeks after what God desires of him/her and I know that he/she is going to be on the right track, I know I can follow him/her because of their relationship and closeness with Christ.

My youth pastor posed this question, and what I heard was a call for leaders to rise up in the youth group. I stood. It is a big responsibility to have an entire youth group looking up to you and watching your actions to see if Christ is evident in your life, but for a while I could hear God calling me to do something more with my youth ministry. The teens in the youth group were being poured into, but it was hard to tell if they were pouring anything out. It was time to start a revolution, beginning with me, because I was willing to let God use me to change the church attitude both in myself and in others. I asked for accountability, because if I’m leading, not only do I need people following but people alongside me to point out things in my life and bluntly tell me; Mackenzie, if you carry this on any longer, you are going to be leading people into sin.

I’ve been gone for most of the summer, and I haven’t had a chance to notice if my commitment had produced any followers. I may not ever see the people who seek after Christ because my relationship with him changed them. I hope I will be able to look back across the graduation stage and look back at people who have followed me as I followed Christ and know that even as I step out into the real world, I will continue after what he asks of me with all I am, no matter the cost.

I want to be able to lead the people at my school this next year and the people in my youth group this summer and for the rest of my high school years, and if I notice that I have no followers, I know it’s time to back off and let someone else do the leading, while I follow.  With Christ at the center of everything I do, I want to lead people to walk in his ways, and get up people out of the pew and onto the road. If you always live your spiritual life in one place with no risks, you’ve never really lived at all. And besides, I need some followers. You can’t lead if no one is following.

4 thoughts on “The Following: Leading Well (Part 2)

  1. You will do great as long as you seek God’s will and people see Jesus in you. It is awesome you are seeking to step out and do the will of God. Moses wasn’t a born leader, he had a speech impediment and was afraid to speak. God was patient with him and did give him Aaron to be his speaker. But Moses became a good leader in spite of that because he choose to follow & stay close to God. When we seek God’s leadership and desire Him to work in every aspect of what He gives us, “we can do all things through Christ who strengthens us.” Be sensitive to the Spirit’s leading. The biggest reward will be when fellow classmates are following Christ and step out of their comfort zone to do God’s will in their life. Also that younger classmates follow your leading to witness and challenge others to live for Christ and to become the leader for Fellowship for Christian Athletes. One of the successes of a leader is that they challenge and encourage others to lead. It sounds like you desire others to step up just like Ross was encouraging the Youth to step up. I will be praying for you and God’s work in your life. And that you are an example for others to become followers of Christ.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for the encouragement and challenge, you are so good at doing both! I know I’ve been gone a lot, but I believe I’ll be back in your Sunday School class this Sunday… I hope:)

      Like

Have Something To Say? Write it Below!

