My friend sent me a text today asking for my help in spreading the word about something she wanted to do this Tuesday morning in honor of Sanctity of Human Life Sunday. She proposed that we gather at the courtyard of our school before first block and pray against abortion for and the support of life. She said, “I just feel like we need to pray out against the murder of unborn children and mercy for women who have gone through abortion. I know this issue probably affects several girls at our school currently, and while I believe we as Christians shouldn’t stand for it, I believe picketing the issue isn’t the way to show how much we actually care about this issue and the many lives lost to it. This event isn’t a picket for abortion or even something that would condemn the mothers and children. It is a prayer time where we can quiet our hearts and ask for help and healing of this nation and the hurt surrounding this issue. We need to pray for comfort for the mothers, whether prepared or unprepared for children, who decidedly give up their child, whether forced to or unforced. It is a sight to see what this nation has become…after everything we used to be. We survived here, we fought and won this land, not anything of our own doing, but because God chose to bless us. Because our founding fathers left everything they knew, to come here, and worship God the way he should be worshipped. My pastor quoted Dr. Russell Moore, the Dean of the School of Theology at Southern Seminary, in today’s bulletin. This is what Dr. Moore wrote:

Why I Hate Sanctity of Human Life Sunday

“I don’t hate Sanctity of Human Life Sunday because I think it somehow, unbiblical. No, indeed. The entire canon throbs with God’s commitment to the fatherless and to the widows, his wrath at the shedding of innocent blood. I don’t hate it because I think it’s inappropriate. Just as every Lord’s Day should be Easter, with the proclamation of the Resurrection of Jesus, and Christmas, with the announcement of the Incarnation, so every Lord’s Day should highlight the worth and dignity of human life. I hate Sanctity of Human Life Sunday because I’m reminded that we have to say things to one another that human beings shouldn’t have to say.
– Mothers shouldn’t kill their children
– Fathers shouldn’t abandon their babies
– No human life is worthless regardless of skin color, age, disability, or economic status.
The very fact that these things must be proclaimed is a reminder of the horrors of this present darkness.
But I also love Sanctity of Human Life Sunday when I think about the fact that I serve a congregation with ex-orphans all around, adopted into loving families. I love to reflect on the men and women who serve every week in pregnancy centers for women in crisis. And I love to see men and women who have aborted babies find their sins forgiven, even this sin, and their consciences cleansed by Christ.
We’ll always need Christmas. We’ll always need Easter. But I hope, please Lord, someday soon, that Sanctity of Human Life Sunday is unnecessary.”

This too my hope and prayer. I hope you’ll join me this Tuesday in praying over this. For my high school folks who are here for information about this event, we will meet in the courtyard (by the flagpole) just before the tardy bell rings for first block. We will have a time of prayer for the children who are affected or will be affected. We will pray for the mothers and/or fathers that are going through this rough time, and the doctors and nurses working with these women. We will pray for those giving or receiving advice, whether directly or indirectly involved. We will pray that people everywhere will realize they can make a difference and eventually stop the necessity of Sanctity of Human Life Sunday.

Have Something To Say? Write it Below!